Who We Are

Advisory Board

Advisory Board Members

Reza Aslan

Professor Creative Writing, UC Riverside

John M. Barry

Author, Roger Williams and the Creation of the American Soul

Kit Bigelow

Advisory Board at Religious Freedom Institute

Ann D. Braude

Director, Women's Studies in Religion Program, Harvard Divinity School

Catherine Brekus

Charles Warren Professor of the History of Religion in America, Harvard Divinity School

David F. Holland

John A. Bartlett Professor of New England Church History, Harvard Divinity School

Diana Butler Bass

American Historian of Christianity

Roger Finke

Professor of Sociology, Religious Studies, and International Affairs, The Pennsylvania State University

Thomas Farr

President Emeritus, Religious Freedom Institute

Thomas S. Kidd

Distinguished Professor of History, Baylor University

Spencer Fluhman

Associate Professor History, Brigham Young University

Hannah Smith

Associate Director, International Center for Law and Religion Studies

Cherie Harder

President at The Trinity Forum

Robert P. George

McCormick Professor of Jurisprudence, Princeton University

Linford D. Fisher

Associate Professor of History, Brown University

Benjamin Hertzberg

Senior Principal–Research, Data, & Analytics Gartner Fellow, Center for the Study of Law and Religion

Paul Harvey

Professor of History, University of Colorado - Colorado Springs

Joshua Goode

Associate Professor of Cultural Studies and History, Claremont Graduate University

Dr. Andrew Murphy

Professor of Political Science at the University of Michigan

Brian J. Grim

Founder and President, Religious Freedom and Business Foundation

Philip Goff

Executive Director, Center for the Study of Religion and American Culture

Philip Goldberg

Author, Speaker and Religious Counselor

Dr. Charles Haynes

Senior Fellow for Religious Freedom

Peter Thuesen

Professor of Religious Studies at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Dr. Diane L. Moore

Senior Lecturer on Religious Studies and Education, Harvard Divinity School

Dr. Zuhdi Jasser

President, American Islamic Forum for Democracy

Suzanne Morgan

Sacred Space Ambassador, Council for a Parliament of the World’s Religions

Dr. Pamela S. Nadell

Patrick Clendened Chair in Women’s & Gender History and Director, Jewish Studies Program, American University

Brad Hirschfield

President, The National Jewish Center for Learning and Leadership

Dr. Azza Karam

Professor, Religion and Development, Vrij Universiteit (VU) Amsterdam

Eric Rassbach

Vice President and Senior Counsel, Becket Fund for Religious Liberty

Anthony Picarello, Jr.

Executive Director, St. John Paul II National Shrine

Dr. Andrew Preston

Senior Lecturer in American History, University of Cambridge

Gary P. Zola

Emeritus Executive Director, Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives; Edward M. Ackerman Family Distinguished Professor of the American Jewish Experience and Reform Jewish History, Hebrew Union College

Asma T. Uddin

Visiting Assistant Professor of Law at Catholic University of America

Dr. Josh Perelman

Independent Cultural Institutions Consultant

Sherif Girgis

Author & Lawyer, Associate, Jones Day

Michael W. McConnell

Richard and Frances Mallery Professor, Stanford Law School; Director, Stanford Constitutional Law Center; Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution

David Daniels III

Professor of Church History, McCormick Theological Seminary

John Turner

Professor of Religious Studies and History, George Mason University

Marc Stern

Associate General Counsel, American Jewish Committee

Dr. Denise Spellberg

Professor of History and Middle Eastern Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Dr. Lauren Turek

Assistant Professor of History and Director of Museum Studies, Trinity University

Douglas Laycock

Professor of Law and Professor of Religious Studies, University of Virginia

Tammi J. Schneider

Professor of Religion, Claremont Graduate University

Maria Mazzenga

Curator, American Catholic History Collections Special Collections, University Libraries, The Catholic University of America

Dr. Eric Lewis Williams

Director of the Office of Black Church Studies; Assistant Professor of Theology and Black Church Studies, Duke Divinity School

Sara Georgini

Historian and Series Editor, The Adams Papers, Massachusetts Historical Society

Robert Wilson-Black

Fundraising Consultant

Mark Noll

Professor of History Emeritus, University of Notre Dame
Picture by William Koechling

Suhag Shukla

Executive Director, Hindu American Foundation

Tisa Wenger

Associate Professor of American Religious History, Yale Divinity School

Marc Dollinger

Professor of Jewish Studies and Social Responsibility, San Francisco State University; author, Black Power, Jewish Politics: Reinventing the Alliance In The 1960s

Paul Louis Metzger

Professor of Theology & Culture, Multnomah University & Seminary; Director of The Institute for Cultural Engagement: New Wine, New Wineskins

Nichole Phillips

Associate Professor in the Practice of Sociology of Religion and Culture; Director of the Black Church Studies Program, Emory University's Candler School of Theology

Christel Manning

Professor of Religious Studies, Sacred Heart University.

Annette Marie Lantos Tillemann-Dick

Co-Chair of the Advisory Board of The Lantos Foundation for Human Rights

Barry Hankins

Professor of History, Baylor University; Editor, Journal of Church and State

Kathleen Cummings

Professor of History and American Studies, University of Notre Dame.

Adam Kissel

Senior Fellow, Cardinal Institute for West Virginia Policy

Matthew Petersen

Director, NERA Economic Consulting

Grace Yukitch

Professor of Sociology at Quinnipiac University

Kristy Nabhan-Warren

Professor and the inaugural V.O. and Elizabeth Kahl Figge Chair in Catholic Studies, The University of Iowa

Mark David Hall

Herbert Hoover Distinguished Professor of Politics George Fox University

S. Brent Rodriguez-Plate

Executive Director, The Association for Public Religion and Intellectual Life; Professor of Religious Studies, Hamilton College

Jace Weaver

Franklin Professor of Religion and Native American Studies, University of Georgia

Alexis Wells-Oghoghomeh

Assistant Professor of Religious Studies, Stanford University

John Shook

Professor of Philosophy in D.C. and staff advisor, American Humanist Association

Joel Hall

CEO, Unrivaled

Rev. Dr. David Latimore

Director, Betsey Stockton Center for Black Church Studies

Steven K. Green

Fred H. Paulus Professor of Law and Affiliated Professor of History and Religious Studies, Willamette University

Stephen J. Lind

Associate Professor, USC Marshall School of Business

Peter S. Scholz

Managing Director Woodvale Realty Partners

Derek Hicks

Founding Director of The Center for Research, Engagement and Collaboration in African American Life (RECAAL) and Associate Professor of Religion and Culture, Wake Forest Universty School of Divinity

Alex J. Luchenitser

Associate Vice President & Associate Legal Director Americans United for Separation of Church & State

Randall Balmer

John Phillips Professor in Religion, Dartmouth College

Joseph Stuart

Assistant Professor of History Brigham Young University

Duncan Ryuken Williams

Professor of Religion and American Studies & Ethnicity, Director of the Shinso Ito Center for Japanese Religions and Culture, University of Southern California

Kiran Kaur Gill

Executive Director SALDEF

Tarunjit Singh Butalia

Executive Director of Religions for Peace and Founding Trustee of Sikh Council for Interfaith Relations

Grant Wacker

Gilbert T. Rowe Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Christian History, Duke Divinity School


Assistant Professor of Architecture, Utah Valley University